Turn It Around

When a story I’m working on is boring or frustrating me, one way I’ll try to fix it is by changing it around.

Change the protagonist from male to female. Change the point of view from the employee to the manager, or from the the mother to the son. Change the setting from the campus to the apartment, or to the best friend’s parents’ lake house.

It’s surprising how often I find a new insight when I do this. It’s too easy to look at things a certain way. Try it a different way.

 

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turn It Around

  1. I like to write the ending when I’m stuck that way I know where I want to go as I fill in the middle 🙂 I nominated your blog for the versatile blogger award. http://karensdifferentcorners.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  2. Charlie Close says:

    Hi, Karen,

    I do much the same thing. For me, it’s important to know the end before I start, and if I actually write it I feel like I’m that much closer to done when I have to work through all the middle parts. It doesn’t matter for shorter pieces, but it really helps for longer ones.

    Thanks for the nomination. Glad you’re enjoying the blog. More soon.

    Charlie

Leave a Reply

