Why I Like the Shower

My best ideas show up when I don’t try. They just magically appear. I really shouldn’t take credit for them because I have no idea where they come from.

I have found that I get my best ideas in the shower. I can’t tell you how often I’ve gone to bed with a problem and discovered the solution while rinsing shampoo off my head.

This is not to say I don’t try. I do try. I think, I struggle, I work, I worry. I do all that. But none of it seems to help, not until I get in the shower the next morning and the answer arrives from nowhere.

I’ve learned to accept this as part of my process, and now I encourage it by leaving spaces where ideas are welcome. I go for walks. I set aside time during my commute. No radio, no music, no audiobooks. Just thinking about whatever.

The answers come…if I prepare for them…if I let them.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

